The Pueblo West View

Pappas’ exit leaves near-novice board

Ted Ortiviz soon will be the only veteran member

The resignation of Pueblo County District 70 school board member Sally Pappas on Wednesday means that all but one seat will be filled with a new member this fall.

Pappas submitted her resignation, effective Wednesday, because she is moving to Parker to be closer to family.

Pappas’ resignation will require the board to appoint a new member to serve for the remainder of Pappas’ term, which expires in 2015.

In addition to Pappas’ position, there are three other seats up for election in November.

Board President Lynette Masters and member David Valdez are term-limited and cannot run again.

Board member Michael Connolly announced earlier this year that he will not seek a second term on the board.

That leaves board Vice President Ted Ortiviz as the only veteran member on the five-person board.

Ortiviz was elected, along with Pappas, in 2011. His term expires in 2015.

To date, only one individual has announced his intent to run for the school board.

Retired District 70 teacher Mark Emery is running for the District 4 seat held by Masters. District 4 encompasses the St. Charles Mesa.

There have been no candidates announcing their intention to run for Valdez’s District 5 seat or Connolly’s District 3 position.

District 3 encompasses a portion of Pueblo West and District 5 encompasses the mountain communities of Colorado City, Rye and Beulah.

In addition to District 70’s three seats, Pueblo City Schools (D60) has two seats up for election.

Seats held by Stephanie Garcia and Phyllis Sanchez are up for election. Garcia, who was elected in 2005 and re-elected in 2009, is term-limited.

Sanchez, the current board president, is completing her first term in office. She announced last month she will seek a second term.

Individuals interested in running for the school board must take out a nominating petition and get at least 50 signatures of valid registered voters.

The nominating petitions are available at the respective school board secretary offices.

The petitions must be filed by Aug. 30.

Discuss this story
comments powered by Disqus